The Caribbean Community (CARICOM) is a grouping of   twenty countries: fifteen Member States  and five  Associate Members. It is home to  approximately sixteen million citizens. Stretching from The Bahamas in the north to Suriname  and Guyana in South America, CARICOM comprises states that are considered developing countries, and except for Belize, in Central America and Guyana and Suriname in South America, all  Members and Associate Members are island  states.

Article 23 of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas provides for the Secretariat as the principal administrative organ of the Community with Headquarters in Georgetown, Guyana.   The Secretariat also has an Office in Barbados and a small satellite unit in Jamaica.

In addition to any functions which may be assigned to it by Organs of the Community, the Secretariat:

  • services meetings of the Organs and Bodies of the Community and take appropriate follow up action on determinations issuing from such meetings;
  • initiates, organises and conducts studies on issues for the achievement of the objectives of the Community;
  • provides, on request, services to the Member States of the Community on matters relating to the achievement of its objectives;
  • collects, stores and disseminates to the Member States of the Community, information relevant for the achievement of its objectives;
  • assists Community Organs in the development and implementation of proposals and programmes for the achievement of objectives of the Community;
  • co-ordinates in relation to the Community the activities of donor agencies, international, regional and national institutions for the achievement of objectives of the Community;
  • prepares the draft budget of the Community for examination by the Budget Committee;
  • provides, on request, technical assistance to national authorities to facilitate implementation of Community decisions;
  • conducts, as mandated, fact-finding assignments in the Member States, and
  • initiates or develops proposals for consideration and decision by competent Organs in order to achieve Community.


Austrian Development Agency

ADA is the operational unit of Austrian Development Cooperation. On behalf of the Federal Government, it plans, finances and supports development programmes and projects in the countries of Africa, Asia, South-Eastern and Eastern Europe and the Caribbean.

Caribbean Centre for Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency

CCREEE aims at improving access to modern, affordable and reliable energy services, energy security and mitigation of negative externalities of the energy system (e.g. local pollution and GHG emissions) by promoting renewable energy and energy efficiency investments, markets and industries in the Caribbean.

Caribbean Development Bank

The Caribbean Development Bank is a financial institution that helps Caribbean nations finance social and economic programs in its member countries.

Caribbean Electric Utility Services Corporation

The Caribbean Electric Utility Services Corporation (CARILEC) is an association of electric services, dealers, manufactures and other stakeholders operating in the electricity industry in the Caribbean region, Central and South Americas and Globally.

Caribbean Examinations Council

The Caribbean Examinations Council or CXC® is an examination board in the Caribbean. It was established in 1972 under Agreement by the Participating Governments in the CARICOM.

Caribbean Policy Development Centre

The Caribbean Policy Development Centre (CPDC) is a coalition of Caribbean non-governmental organizations.

Clean Energy Solutions Center

The Clean Energy Solutions Center helps governments, advisors and analysts create policies and programs that advance the deployment of clean energy technologies. The Solutions Center’s three main offerings are Ask an Expert policy assistance, training and peer-to-peer learning forums and a rich library of technical tools and publications. These services are provided at no cost to users.

European Union

The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union of 28 member states that are located primarily in Europe.

Japan Internation Cooperation Agency

The Japan International Cooperation Agency is a governmental agency that coordinates official development assistance (ODA) for the government of Japan.

Organization of Caribbean Utility Regulators

OOCUR INC. is a non-profit organisation, established by an Agreement dated July 26, 2002 in Ocho Rios, Jamaica, by the following signatories of utility regulators of the Caribbean.

United Nations Industrial Development Organization

The Organization's primary objective is the promotion and acceleration of industrial development in developing countries and countries with economies in transition and the promotion of international industrial cooperation.

University of the West Indies

Established in 1948, UWI is the largest and longest standing higher education provider in the English-speaking Caribbean .

World Bank Group

International organization established in 1944 to provide financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world to fight poverty. It comprises two development institutions owned by 187 member countries: the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA). The IBRD aims to reduce poverty in middle-income and creditworthy poorer countries, while IDA focuses on the world's poorest countries.